Honey Beer Bread: Holy Butter!

I was heading to a Green Bay Packers party at a friend’s place and they asked everyone to bring a snack. I furiously went through my Pinterest boards until I found a pin for Honey Beer Bread – a perfect football snack!
The recipe calls for:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 Tbsp. honey or agave nectar
  • 1 bottle (12 ounces) beer
  • 4 Tbsp. (half stick) butter, melted (**You can double this if you’d like**)

Notice how they say you can double the butter? Oh my gosh, please do not! Cut it in half, if anything! My friends can vouch for me: it tasted like a side of bread for your butter soup.

The beer I used was one I had lying around: Grain Belt Nordeast from Minnesota. It’s an amber American Lager, but the flavor didn’t really come through (obviously, with all that butter!). Maybe with less butter and more beer / honey it would taste like honey beer bread!

I’ll keep experimenting…

Leave a Reply

